Our life is good, not perfect, a work in progress – but good.

Whew, lots has happened within our family recently.

About 10 days ago we found out that Rick’s cousin’s son had been killed in a truck accident in Texas.  He was getting his life more in order, had just visited home for his dad’s 60th birthday, was engaged to a cute girl with 3 cute kids, and he has 3 cute kids of his own.  Life was looking good.  He and his dad were rebuilding a relationship, and it was getting better and better.  Then – WHAM – he’s gone, leaving his dad, and the rest of his family grieving, wondering how this could happen.  The family had been divorced, the kids moved with their mom about 20 years ago.  The mom wasn’t up to much as far as setting a good example for the kids.  We have our free agency and thus make our own choices, but it sure helps with we have good examples around us.  The services were good, I’m sure Cole was watching and was happy.  His family had a special, natural, casket made and they provided pens for everyone to sign the casket after the service.  I have never seen this done before, it was awesome, it totally fit Cole.  Cole loved expensive, nice things, especially expensive shoes.  On friend purchased a new pair of Nike shoes, to the tune of $200, these were put in the casket with Cole, he’s smiling about that too.

Then the day before the service for Cole, Rick’s brother was arrested for distribution of drugs.  He has struggled with addiction since he was abut 12.  We have known for some time that he was selling drugs from their parents home, but couldn’t do anything about.  We feared internal family problems if we were too involved.  Again, free agency and how we use it.  It is his choice what he has done with his life.  However the choices from now on will probably be made by the legal system, and I’m sure he won’t be happy with them.

We make choices every day.  Some days my choices make me happy, others not so much.  Am I choosing the best actions, the best goals, the best path for the rest of my life.  Am I keeping in mind that my choices, whether I want them to or not, affect others in my life.  I’m not living up to “A new beginning”, my first WordPress post, like I should.  I’m recommitting today, starting today, to be a better me.  I chose today to use my free agency to better my life and hopefully the lives of those I love.

I am trying to read blogs and get ideas of what to write about.  I am checking out 365 suggestions on A Year of Blogging and Journaling Ideas.  You can read all about it here:  www.cynthiasblog.com.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

These Mountains We Climb

Loss. Faith. Triumph.

The House of Hendrix

where joy, imperfection, and grace abound.

The Nuptials of Brian and Cammie Jan

Let's Celebrate, shall we?

